DOURO REGION – TERRITORY OF EXCEPTION

 

The Douro is at the same time river, vine and wine. Located in the north of Portugal, the river crosses the country from the Spanish border to the city of Porto, bordering the Atlantic Ocean.

In the Delimited Region of the Douro, the climate is defined by the popular saying “nine months of winter and three of hell”. Protected from the winds by the mountains of Marão and Montemuro, the region covers 250,000 ha of schistose soils, including 44,000 hectares of vineyards producing the appellations of origin Porto and Douro.

It is the terraces, landings and the vine in height which give to the valley its unique character in the world and which are at the origin of these out of the ordinary wines.

This breathtaking landscape was revealed to the world in 2001, when the Alto Douro wine region was declared World Heritage Site by UNESCO, as a cultural, evolving and living landscape.

 

DOURO, THE WORLD’S FIRST DELIMITED AND REGULATED WINE REGION

The Douro is the oldest delimited and regulated wine region in the world. Its creation dates back to September 10, 1756, when the Portuguese Prime Minister Marquis de Pombal established Companhia General da Agricultura das Vinhas do Alto Douro.

With this visionary measure, he was the forerunner of the “appellation of origin” as we know it today, with its three pillars: geographical delimitation, a regulatory body and a supervisory body. The goal was to be able to ensure an always optimal wine quality. This is how Porto’s appellation of origin was born, one of the most recognized and prestigious wines in the world.

In 1982 appeared the Douro appellation of origin, guaranteeing the quality of the dry wines produced in the Delimited Region of the Douro.
The Douro has thus become the only region producing wine with two appellations of origin: Douro and Porto.

Port wine can be tasted in about 120 countries and Douro wine in about 100 countries on five continents.
Today, each wine must be approved by the Institute of Douro Wines of Porto, I.P, to be able to claim the label of origin Porto and to receive the seal of guarantee affixed on the neck of each bottle.

Protecting, defending and regulating appellations of origin are the priorities of the Institute of Douro and Porto Wines, IP It also promotes these appellations internationally, guarantees their image of prestige and actively fights against fraud and counterfeits , seeking to benefit from the aura of the appellations of origin Porto and Douro.

Write Your Review

X

LA REGION DU DOURO – TERRITOIRE D’EXCEPTION

 

Le douro c’est à la fois rivière, vigne et vin. Situé dans le nord du Portugal, la rivière traverse le pays de la frontière espagnole à la ville de Porto, en bordure de l’océan Atlantique.

Dans la région délimitée du Douro, le climat est défini par le dicton populaire “neuf mois d’hiver et trois de l’enfer”. Protégée des vents par les montagnes de Marão et de Montemuro, la région couvre 250 000 héctares de sols schisteux, dont 44 000 hectares de vignes produisant les appellations d’origine Porto et Douro.

Ce sont les terrasses, les paliers et la vigne en hauteur qui donnent à la vallée son caractère unique au monde et qui sont à l’origine de ces vins hors du commun.

Ce paysage à couper le souffle a été révélé au monde en 2001, lorsque la région viticole de l’Alto Douro a été déclarée site du patrimoine mondial par l’UNESCO, en tant que paysage culturel, évolutif et vivant.

 

DOURO, LA PREMIÈRE RÉGION DU VIN DÉLIMITÉ ET RÉGLEMENTÉE AU MONDE

Le Douro est la plus ancienne région viticole délimitée et réglementée dans le monde. Sa création remonte au 10 septembre 1756, lorsque le Premier ministe portugais Marquis de Pombal créa la Companhia General da Agriculture das Vinhas do Alto Douro.

Avec cette mesure visionnaire, il a été le précurseur de “l’appellation d’origine” telle que nous la connaissons aujourd’hui, avec ses trois piliers : la délimitation géographique, un organe de régulation et un organe de contrôle. L’objectif était de pouvoir assurer une qualité de vin toujours optimale. C’est ainsi qu’est née l’appellation d’origine de Porto, l’un des vins les plus reconnus et les plus prestigieux du monde.

En 1982 est apparue l’appellation d’origine Douro, garantissant la qualité des vins secs produits dans la Région Délimitée du Douro.
Le Douro est ainsi devenu la seule région produisant du vin avec deux appellations d’origine: Douro et Porto.

Le vin de Porto peut être dégusté dans environ 120 pays et le vin du Douro dans environ 100 pays sur les cinq continents.
Aujourd’hui, chaque vin doit être approuvé par l’Institut des Vins Douro de Porto, I.P, pour pouvoir réclamer l’appellation d’origine Porto et recevoir le sceau de garantie apposé sur le col de chaque bouteille.

Protéger, défendre et réglementer les appellations d’origine sont les priorités de l’Institut du Douro et Porto Wines, IP promeut également ces appellations à l’international, garantit leur image de prestige et lutte activement contre la fraude et la contrefaçon, cherchant à bénéficier de l’aura des appellations d’origine Porto et Douro.

Ecrivez Votre Commentaire

PANIER

X